This IS……

Hi readers, 

This posting is more geared towards my Catholic readers but all are invited to read.. If you have any questions or are curious about anything in this post, please feel free to post a comment at the end of the post by clicking on the “comment” button..

This morning as I was sitting at Mass listening to the priest recite the words we hear each week when he is praying over the bread and wine, before the transubstantiation (thats some word isn’t it?) takes place and it in fact becomes the Body and Precious Blood of our Lord Jesus Christ, my mind got stuck on two words as the priest spoke and those words are…”This IS”. 

From there, my mind began to wander. Of course, not the best time to have your mind wander while sitting in Mass and at that most important time, but I’m human like everyone else and it happens from time to time.

You’re probably thinking, so whats the big deal about the words,”this is”?.. Well, usually not very much unless we are talking about our Lord Jesus..

At the last supper, Jesus said to his disciples when he broke the bread and passed it to them, “This IS my body”…He then took the cup and repeated those same two words “this IS my blood”…and I began to think of all the people of other Christian denominations and sadly, some fellow Catholics who do not believe in the real presence of our Lord in the Eucharist and Precious Blood.. and then I felt sadness for them.

Christians from other denominations and some fellow Catholics believe that the Eucharist and the Precious Blood are merely symbols of what happened at the Last Supper. They believe that our Lord did not mean the bread and wine were literally His Body and Blood…. Let me ask you, have you ever known our Lord to lie? 

He said, THIS IS my body and THIS IS my blood. He did not say , this is a symbol of my body and blood. So for my fellow Catholics who are unsure or do not believe this, the next time you’re in Mass, listen closely to your priest as he prays over the gifts.. Listen to him say “this IS my Body and this IS my blood” and believe that our Lord Jesus Christ would not have told us a lie..Jesus also tells us, “He who eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life and I will raise him up on the last day. For my flesh is food indeed and my blood is drink indeed. He who eats my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me and I in him.'” 

When we receive communion, we are receiving in fact, the Body and Blood of our Lord Jesus.. Be reverent .. Approach with all respect and humility and thank Him everyday for the gift that He has given us in the Eucharist..

Leave a Reply

