Sunday Sentiments

Blessed Mother Theresa of Calcutta always used to say that the Western developed countries are poorer than her poorest of the poor in India.. That in India, her poor, were poor in material things where as in the West we are poor in things of the soul, things of the heart and she was right..

Our society has become so self absorbed and so ‘busy’ we do not take time for the things that really matter outside of our own families and even then, sometimes we don’t take or make time for those inside of our family.. We take human life for granted, we murder babies in the womb, we fight to euthanize the elderly and sick.. but, we will take and make time for shopping to buy things we really don’t ‘need’, we will take time to go to the latest show, we are a culture who worships comfort and things..

All across our country there are people who are lonely, unloved, unwanted.. Some of these people may be in our very own family but we as a society have forgotten or give no importance to the words Jesus spoke and still speaks to us today.. I was hungry and you gave me to eat, I was naked and you clothed me, I was thirsty and you gave me to drink, I was sick and you cared for me, I was imprisoned and you visited me. What you have done to the least of these you have also done to me.. As a society we give no importance to these words any longer.. So many people live in the poverty of loneliness, feeling unloved..

Life gets busy, sure it does but, if you are really so busy that you can not make the time to visit someone you know who is sick, isolated, or imprisoned because you ‘just have so much to do” you are missing out on what this life is all about.. Loving each other and being loved… I myself know how this feels first hand.. I am sick and no one comes to visit me but I learned long ago to accept that.. I am blessed that I have my husband but, there are those who have no one.. They are shut in and spend their days alone. They eat alone, no one to talk to, no one to make them feel loved or wanted when all it would really take is someone to make a little bit of time out of their week to go and visit with them..

If you know someone who is shut in, before it’s to late and then you say to  yourself “I should have done more” why not do it now while you can? MAKE the time in your life and in your heart for someone who is less fortunate than you.. If they are shut in, go see them. Offer to help run errands, clean, do laundry, cook, or simply sit and chat, watch a TV program with them, read to them or with them… If you know someone who is poor and can’t afford enough food for the month or week, if you don’t have money you can give them then, if you are making a meal for your family why not make a little extra and bring it to the ones or one who has none?

This life passes quickly and the material things of this life even quicker.. Today, take stock of your life and the people in it.. Relatives and friends.. Are you doing all you can or should? Give some deep thought to your priorities.. Is that extra hour at work or shopping or watching TV or playing video games really so much more important than making someone feel loved, wanted and cared for? Come to know and understand that the only thing that lasts in this life is how we love another.

In the words of our beloved and most Holy Lord, Jesus Christ, ‘Love one another as I have loved  you”…

God Bless you and keep you in His Love…

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sentiments

Leave a Reply

