Auld Lang Syne….

Auld Lang Syne was a poem written by Robert Burns in 1788 set to music. It’s about times gone by and remembering friends from the past and not letting them be forgotten.  For me, Auld Lang Syne sums up how New Years Eve has always felt for me. It’s always been a night where I reflect on those I’ve lost, those I miss, things that have happened in the past year both good and bad and I thought I’d share some of that with you this New Years Eve..

What comes to my mind first is the ones whom I love that I have lost.  In May of 2015 and I lost a very close friend unexpectedly. This was my friend John Morin.

150x286-3453788

John and I became online friends through playing the Facebook game called “Farmville” I think it was in the year 2011. We became fast Facebook friends and we would have many phone conversations together. John had children and a wonderful wife all whom loved him very deeply. He was also an amazing friend. Anytime you needed him he was there even if it was more than an inconvenience to himself. He was a man who lived as Christ wants us all to live. To love one another as I have loved you. My only regret is that we never had the opportunity to meet in person but I know when the day comes that the Lord calls me home I will see John again.

In October of 2015 I lost a man whom I call “brother”.

This is Antonio Ayala Jr.Tony 2014

If anyone read my post here about him then you know Tony was in my life from the time I was eleven years old. Tony was a tortured soul all his life but also a man with a huge heart to those he loved. Losing Tony was not just losing a friend it was losing my brother but again, what brings me solace in my grief is knowing one day we will be reunited in Gods heavenly kingdom never to be parted again.

This past year I also lost three of my fur children Shadow, Onyx and Lizzy.

6e72f-lizzy

My dogs are my children and losing one of them is so deeply heart breaking but here again, I fully believe that our beloved pets go to heaven. I refuse to believe that God would allow such a deep deep bond to form between human and animal and then that bond is forever severed in death. I know all my fur children whom I’ve lost over the last thirteen years, there have been six of them so far, will also be waiting for me.

I also reflect on the many blessings I have received, undeservedly so.The love and mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ. His church. The Sacraments, the love of my husband and my family. That I still have my Bailey who although has many health issue’s is fifteen years old and as of this writing still with me.

Blog Brain...

Some of the financial burdens that have been lifted. The roof over my head the car under my bottom, the air conditioner in the summer, the heat in the winter, the clothes on my back and in my closet. The shoes on my feet,the food in my refrigerator and the ability to pay my bills.

The blessings of Sarah and Toby when I didn’t think my heart was healed enough to love another animal.

PicMonkey Collagets

The people who have touched my life even the ones who have come and gone. All from whom I learned lessons from. The friends who accept me as I am and are interested and love me for who I am and where I am and expect nothing in return but that same kind of love.

I think about what the coming year will bring and what it will be like to face another year older, another year older without my parents, another year older with all mine and my husbands health issue’s. Another year older without my family being down here with me. So much uncertainty but another year in which I will entrust all my grief all the uncertainty and my entire life and all that it contains to the Lord and our Blessed Mother.

I wish all of you who read this and your loved ones a very holy, blessed, healthy and joyous 2016.

Blog Signture

 

Leave a Reply

