New Bouncing Baby Boy

20160624_155329

I bet you thought I was going to tell you I was pregnant didn’t you? Well dear friends, unless I am to be the second Immaculate Conception, (which just, NO) it ain’t gonna happen but.. It is a bouncing baby boy! A four legged bouncing baby boy. This is Alvin..

Alvin was given to us by our vet because they knew we would care for him. At first, Lou and I said no very strongly.. We have enough dogs, I just lost my beloved Bailey in May, I didn’t think I was ready for another dog let alone a fifteen week old six pound baby puppy and we can’t afford it.. Well, with much conjoling and promises made to us we broke and took him home. 

Alvin is a Chihuahua Terrier mix. Eventually we will have a DNA test run to see exactly what he is mixed with. He’s getting along wonderfully with Toby and Sarah. No surprise there considering Toby and Sarah are only 10 months old themselves but I was a little taken aback at how nicely they play with him being that he’s only six pounds and they are seventy-two pounds a piece. Sarah can get a little rough here and there so we need to watch but Toby is just a gentle mushy giant..

How did we chose his name? Well, this little one went through two names before we finally settled on Alvin. At first I named his Atticus after my favorite literary hero, Atticus Finch from “To Kill A Mockingbird” but it just wasn’t rolling off the tongue well. Then, after watching him play with the bigger dogs I kept calling him “Arturo” because he reminded me of a six pound bull in a china shop and then it hit me. He has this black stripe that goes down his back and from behind he almost reminds me of a chipmunk and, he doesn’t listen very well and I thought.. Alvin! Alvin from Alvin and the Chipmunks! That Alvin didn’t listen very well and was always getting in trouble and so is this one. So, Alvin it is….He fits in nicely with us :).

20160625_194728

 

 

Leave a Reply

